top of page
  • Alaysia Jordan

Winners of the Chinese American Librarian Association Best Book Awards

Updated: Aug 18, 2023

June 9, 2023

SLJ News Bites

The Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) Best Book Award subcommittee has announced the recipients of the 2023 CALA Best Book Awards. The annual CALA Best Book Award recognizes outstanding children, YA, and adult books, published in English or Chinese, that exhibit excellence in addressing China, Chinese, and people of Chinese origin or Chinese cultural heritage written by Chinese authors or authors of Chinese descent to raise awareness of these topics and authors in North America.

The children’s and YA winners and honor titles are:

Children's Fiction

Winner: Maizy Chen's Last Chance by Lisa Yee

Honor: Key Player by Kelly Yang

Children's Nonfiction

Winner: She Persisted: Maya Lin by Grace Lin

Honor: The Rise (and Falls) of Jackie Chan by Kristen Mai Giang

Young Adult Fiction

Winner: This Place is Still Beautiful by XiXi Tian

Honor: If You Could See the Sun by Ann Liang

Young Adult Nonfiction

No honor book was chosen.

This Place Is Still Beautiful by XiXi Tian, book cover. Two biracial asian sisters facing the wind, with a blue sky behind them.

14 views0 comments


bottom of page